Mallett's London showrooms are in the spectacular Ely House, built as the London palace for Edmund Keene, the Bishop of Ely, in 1722.
Robert Taylor was employed by the Bishop to draw up the designs for the building, a renowned neo-classical architect famed for the figure of ‘the Old Lady of Threadneedle Street, amongst other designs.
The Bishop's Palace
Ely House follows the traditional layout of most townhouses in the West End, comprising a block two rooms deep with a staircase behind. The original layout for the ground floor was for an entrance vestibule, dining room, morning room and chapel.
The first floor boasts a magnificent drawing room for entertainment, and former bedrooms occupy the upper floors and kitchens and servants’ quarters were sited in the basement.
The history behind Ely House enhances its charm: The Bishop's Mitre is still visible in the central roundel on the exterior of the building, and on a ground floor fireplace.